The Innovation Award to recognize exhibitors for product novelties and new developments is traditionally announced on the third day of expo PetroTrans. The jury is made up of the professional audience and an independent jury made up of industry experts will select the three best product innovations and developments from all entries for the coveted award. The award recognizes power and energy as well as the spirit of handling it safely.

The idea was originally conceived by Albrecht Rühle, a fuel dealer from the Swabian town of Weinstadt-Endersbach, who attended the tradeshow as a visitor and was inspired by the exhibitors. He then decided to “forge” his idea to perfection. In 2014, he forged a flowing drop structure from pure iron that holds a radiant sphere of quartz in the center. The resulting three unique pieces had high symbolic value for the winners.
He is certain to use quartz as a light element that bundles forces and releases energy, but the shape is more difficult to predict. It will result from the flow of the work in the heat of the fire and the structure of the raw material – as well as from Rühle’s vision of never standing still, of always moving further to advance good developments.

That means the awards remained exciting to the last moment when the Innovation Award was handed out to the winners as a festive conclusion to expo PetroTrans on October 1, 2016.


These companies were honored with the award in 2016 by a knowledgeable audience and an independent jury:

(in alphabetical order)